• Français
  • English
VIMEO
IG
TW
FB
  • Français
  • English

In Waves

An animated feature directed by Phuong Mai Nguyen - written by Fanny Burdino & Samuel Doux

Synopsis

Shy teenager AJ meets Kristen while in high school in Los Angeles. Kristen is passionate about surfing... and she’s the most beautiful person he’s ever met. He falls madly in love with her. As life seems to finally come together for AJ, Kristen's life starts falling apart, shattered by illness. Together, they will fight adversity with dignity and enjoy their now-shared passion for surfing and for the ocean, but also their loyal band of friends... even when they know Kristen is doomed. This is what happens when love and friendship become a wave stronger than anything.
"In Waves" is the animated feature adaptation of AJ Dungo's graphic novel, published by Nobrow, awarded "Prix de la BD Fnac-France Inter 2020", and in official selection at Angoulême Comics Festival 2020.

Partners

Charades

Awards

CICLIC feature film Award at Annecy International Animation Film Festival 2021 (Pitchs MIFA)

Technical film summary

Directed by : Phuong Mai Nguyen
Graphic design : Phuong Mai Nguyen
Written by : Fanny Burdino & Samuel Doux
Adapted from : « In Waves », graphic novel by AJ Dungo (published by Nobrow Press, 2019 ; awarded "Prix de la BD Fnac-France Inter 2020" in France & official selection at Angoulême Comics Festival 2020)
Techniques used : 2D Animation & 3D mix
Associate producer : Charades

Festival selections

Selected at Pitchs MIFA 2021 - Annecy International Animation Film Festival

• Français
  • English
VIMEO
IG
TW
FB
  • Français
  • English

In Waves

Un long-métrage d'animation - réalisation et adaptation graphique de Phuong Mai Nguyen - écrit par Fanny Burdino & Samuel Doux

Synopsis

AJ, adolescent timide, rencontre Kristen alors qu'ils sont au lycée à Los Angeles. Passionnée de surf, Kristen est la plus belle personne qu'il ait jamais rencontrée. Il en tombe fou amoureux. Alors que la vie semble décoller pour AJ, celle de Kristen est bouleversée par la maladie. Ensemble ils vont combattre avec noblesse l’adversité, et profiter de leur passion désormais commune pour le surf et l’océan, mais aussi de leur bande d’amis fidèles, même quand ils sauront Kristen condamnée. Quand l’amour et l’amitié forment une vague plus forte que tout.
"In Waves" est l'adaptation en long-métrage d'animation du roman graphique d'AJ Dungo, Prix de la BD Fnac-France Inter 2020, et en sélection officielle au Festival de la Bande Dessinée d’Angoulême 2020.

Partenaires

Charades

Prix

Prix CICLIC Pitchs MIFA long-métrage au Festival international du film d'animation d'Annecy 2021

Fiche technique

Réalisé par : Phuong Mai Nguyen
Adaptation graphique : Phuong Mai Nguyen
Ecrit par : Fanny Burdino & Samuel Doux
Adapté de : « In Waves », roman graphique de AJ Dungo (Editions Nobrow Press/ Casterman, 2019 ; Prix de la BD Fnac-France Inter 2020, et en sélection officielle au Festival de la Bande Dessinée d’Angoulême 2020)
Technique : Animation 2D et mix 3D
Distribution & co-producteur : Charades

Sélection festivals

Sélectionné aux Pitchs MIFA 2021 - Festival international du film d'animation d'Annecy