• Français
  • English
VIMEO
IG
TW
FB
  • Français
  • English

Silex Films

SILEX FILMS is a Paris-based independent film company founded in 2009 and run by Priscilla Bertin and Judith Nora, with an eclectic line up of features and series, dramas and creative documentaries. In 2014 SILEX FILMS founded SILEX ANIMATION, a studio based in Angoulême, France, where all of SILEX FILMS’ animation projects are produced. 

In 2020 SILEX won the “French TV Producer of the year Award”, Animation Category, organized by Procirep.

The feature film ROSE by Aurélie Saada with Françoise Fabian, Aure Atika and Pascal Elbé, coproduced with Germaine Films, distributed by Apollo and sold internationally by Kinology, won the Variety Piazza Grande Award at Locarno Film Festival 2021 and will be released in French theaters on December 8, 2021. HEAVEN by Zeno Graton, coproduced with Belgian companies Tarantula and Menuetto Film ; filming is underway in Belgium. Currently in development, IN WAVES, a 2D animated feature adapted from AJ Dungo’s graphic novel (Nobrow, 2019) directed by Phuong Mai Nguyen and written by Fanny Burdino & Samuel Doux. The project won the Prix CICLIC 2021 for an animated feature at MIFA-Annecy international animated film festival.  

In the last ten years, SILEX has produced several feature films including LAST WINTER (L’Hiver Dernier) by John Shank in 2012 (starring Vincent Rottiers and Anaïs Demoustier), co-produced with Belgian company Tarantula and distributed in France by Le Pacte (Venice Days -Venice Mostra and Magritte for Best Photography) ; THE BIG TRIP (Le Grand’Tour) by Jérôme le Maire in 2013 (ACID -Cannes IFF) ; THE PARISIAN BITCH, PRINCESS OF HEARTS (Connasse, Princesse des Coeurs) by Eloïse Lang and Noémie Saglio starring Camille Cottin, co-produced with LGM Cinéma & Gaumont in 2015, distributed in France and sold internationally by Gaumont. WITH THE WIND (Le Vent Tourne) by Bettina Oberli in 2018 (starring Mélanie Thierry, Pierre Deladonchamps and Nuno Lopes), co-produced with Swiss company Rita Productions, distributed by ARP Sélection and sold internationally by Be For Films, won the Variety Piazza Grande Award at Locarno IFF. In 2020 PASSED BY CENSOR by Turkish director Serhat Karaaslan, co-produced with Turkish company +90 Film Production and German company Departures Films. BAC Films handles French distribution and world sales.

SILEX also produces scripted dramas, animated series and shortcoms for TV. 

Two major TV series were released in 2020:

STALK a 10×23′ YA scripted original drama directed by Simon Bouisson for France Télévisions, streaming on France Télévisions slash. Season 1 garnered two major prizes in France at Festival de la Fiction TV in La Rochelle in 2019 including Best Director. Season 2 was released in October 2021 and won the Award for Best 26′ Series and Best Music at Festival de la fiction TV de La Rochelle 2021. World sales are handled by France Télévisions Distribution.

BRAZEN (Culottées), the 2D adaptation of Pénélope Bagieu’s international bestselling graphic novel (published in France by Gallimard in 2016, by Macmillan in the US in 2018 ; 2019 Eisner Award Winner). The series counting 30 short episodes directed by Phuong Mai Nguyen & Charlotte Cambon de Lavalette features the voice of actress Cécile de France ; it is was broadcasted on France 5 channel and streamed on France.tv. MIAM handles the international sales.

In 2015 THE ADVENTURERS OF MODERN ART (Les Aventuriers de l’Art moderne) a 6×52′ series mixing archives and animation written by Dan Franck and directed by French César Award winner Amélie Harrault together with Pauline Gaillard and Valérie Loiseleux, co-produced with ARTE channel, was broadcasted prime time. It won many accolades and was sold in more than 30 countries by ARTE Sales. The sketch show CONNASSE (70×1,40’) starring Camille Cottin, was broadcasted prime time in 2013-2014 on Canal+ channel ; it was a very big hit in France and is still streaming on Canalplus.com and YouTube.

As for documentaries, SILEX has recently produced two 12×7′ digital series directed by Jean-François Tatin, with ARTE channel : in 2019 FRENCH GAME about the history of French Rap music, streaming on arte.tv, and in 2016 FRENCH TOUCH (Touche Française) about the history of French Rap music. JUNGLE by Louise Mootz which received the Award for Best medium-length international documentary at Festival Visions du Réel 2020. Together with Swiss company Rita Productions, SILEX is currently developing the feature-length adaptation of Mona Chollet’s best-selling essay SORCIERES – la puissance invaincue des femmes (“Witches, the Undefeated Power of Women”) published in France in 2019 by éditions La Découverte.

Concerning our 2D animation projects, SILEX is currently producing ROMANTICISM : THE ADVENTURERS OF ART (Romantisme : Les Aventuriers de l’art), a 4×52′ animated series portraying 19th century Parisian Art and literary scene, directed by Amélie Harrault for ARTE channel, already pre-sold in 16 countries by ARTE Sales. Also in production LES QUIQUOI, a 52×7′ series directed by Eugène Boitsov, based on the eponymous books by Olivier Tallec & Laurent Rivelaygue published by Actes Sud, in coproduction with Doncvoilà Productions for France Télévisions, and sold internationally by MIAM.

• Français
  • English
VIMEO
IG
TW
FB
  • Français
  • English

Silex Films

Fondée en 2009, et dirigée par Priscilla Bertin et Judith Nora, SILEX FILMS produit longs-métrages, fictions et documentaires. En 2014, SILEX FILMS créé SILEX ANIMATION, un studio basé à Angoulême où sont fabriqués tous les projets d’animation produits par SILEX.

En 2020 SILEX reçoit le Prix du producteur français de télévision de l’année, catégorie animation, organisé par la Procirep.  

Côté cinéma, ROSE de Aurélie Saada avec Françoise Fabian, Aure Atika et Pascal Elbé, coproduit avec Germaine Films, distribué par Apollo et vendu à l’international par Kinology est en sélection officielle Première internationale au Festival de Locarno et sortira le 8 décembre 2021 en salles. LE PARADIS de Zeno Graton, coproduit avec les sociétés belges Tarantula et Menuetto Films, a reçu le soutien d’Eurimages et l’Avance sur recettes 1er collège au Printemps 2021 et sera en tournage prochainement en Belgique. En développement actuellement, IN WAVES, long-métrage d’animation 2D  adapté du roman graphique d’AJ Dungo (Nobrow, 2019) réalisé par Phuong Mai Nguyen et écrit par Fanny Burdino et Samuel Doux. Le projet a reçu le Prix CICLIC 2021 du long-métrage d’animation dans le cadre du MIFA-Festival international du film d’animation d’Annecy.  

SILEX a produit en 2012  L’HIVER DERNIER de John Shank (avec Vincent Rottiers et Anaïs Demoustier), coproduit avec la société belge Tarantula et distribué par Le Pacte, sélectionné aux Venice Days -Mostra de Venise, et Magritte de la Meilleure Image ; en 2013  LE GRAND’TOUR de Jérôme le Maire sélectionné à l’ACID ; en 2015  CONNASSE, PRINCESSE DES CŒURS de Eloïse Lang et Noémie Saglio avec Camille Cottin, coproduit avec LGM Cinéma et Gaumont, distribué en France et vendu à l’international par Gaumont. LE VENT TOURNE de Bettina Oberli avec Mélanie Thierry et Pierre Deladonchamps, sorti en salles en septembre 2018, distribué par ARP Sélection, coproduit avec la société Suisse Rita Productions, a remporté le Variety Piazza Grande Award au Festival de Locarno. En 2020 est sorti PASSED BY CENSOR du réalisateur Serhat Karaaslan, coproduit avec la société turque +90 Film Production et la société allemande Departures Films, distribué et vendu à l’international par BAC Films.

SILEX produit également des séries fiction, séries d’animation et formats courts pour la télévision.

Deux séries sont sorties en 2020 :

STALK (10x23min) sur France Télévisions slash, une fiction réalisée par Simon Bouisson, récompensée par deux prix au Festival de la Fiction TV de La Rochelle 2019 dont Meilleure Réalisation et Meilleur Jeune Espoir pour Théo Fernandez. Elle est vendue à l’international par France Télévisions Distribution. La saison 2 sera diffusée prochainement. 

CULOTTEES (30x3min30), adaptation en animation des bandes dessinées de Pénélope Bagieu (Gallimard, 2016) réalisée par Phuong Mai Nguyen et Charlotte Cambon de Lavalette, diffusée sur France 5 et France.tv. C’est Cécile de France qui interprète les voix de tous les personnages. La série est vendue par MIAM. 

SILEX a également produit pour la télévision la série LES AVENTURIERS DE L’ART MODERNE (6x52min) diffusée sur ARTE en prime-time en 2015, adaptée des romans de Dan Franck et co-réalisée par la césarisée Amélie Harrault, avec Pauline Gaillard et Valérie Loiseleux ; vendue dans plus de 30 pays par ARTE Sales, elle a reçu de très nombreux prix en France et à l’étranger. Egalement le format court humoristique CONNASSE (70x1min 40sec) diffusé en prime time sur Canal+ en 2013-2014, toujours en diffusion sur Canalplus.com et YouTube.

Côté documentaires, SILEX a récemment produit pour ARTE deux séries 12x7min réalisées par Jean-François Tatin : FRENCH GAME sur l’histoire du rap français en 2019, toujours en diffusion sur arte.tv, et TOUCHE FRANÇAISE sur l’histoire de la musique électronique française en 2016. JUNGLE de Louise Mootz (51min) a obtenu le Prix du meilleur moyen-métrage documentaire international au Festival Visions du Réel 2020. En développement actuellement avec la société Suisse Rita Productions, l’adaptation en long-métrage documentaire de l’essai “SORCIERES – la puissance invaincue des femmes”, best-seller de Mona Chollet publié en 2019 aux éditions La Découverte.

Côté animation, en production actuellement : ROMANTISME : LES AVENTURIERS DE L’ART (4x52min), une histoire du 19ème siècle à travers ses grandes figures artistiques et culturelles, 100% en animation, réalisée par Amélie Harrault pour ARTE, vendue par ARTE Sales. Egalement en production la série jeunesse LES QUIQUOI (52x7min) réalisée par Eugène Boitsov, adaptation 2D des albums de Olivier Tallec & Laurent Rivelaygue (Actes Sud), en développement avec France Télévisions, en coproduction avec Doncvoilà productions, distribuée par MIAM.