• Français
  • English
  • Français
  • English

Silex Films

Based in Paris, SILEX FILMS is an independent film company run by Priscilla Bertin and Judith Nora, with an eclectic line up of features, TV fictions, creative documentaries, multimedia and art works. In 2014 SILEX FILMS inaugurated SILEX ANIMATION, a 2D studio in Angoulême, France.

SILEX has produced several feature films including The Parisian Bitch, Princess of hearts coproduced with LGM Cinéma and Gaumont, starring French actress Camille Cottin. It was one of the highest grossing films in France in 2015 with 1.2 million entries. In 2012, Last Winter by John Shank (Venice Film Festival) sold internationally by Le Pacte. The Big Trip, by Jérôme le Maire in 2013 (ACID, Cannes Film Festival). In 2016 Solange and the living by Ina Mihalache released in France and Canada. With the wind by Swiss director Bettina Oberli sold internationally by Be For Films, starring Mélanie Thierry, Pierre Deladonchamps and Nuno Lopes : coproduced with Rita Production, it was released in September 2018 and received the Variety Piazza Grande Award at the Locarno Film Festival. Soon will be released Passed by censor by Turkish director Serhat Karaaslan, sold internationally by BAC Films.

SILEX FILMS also produces fictions, documentaries and short programs for TV. The shortcom Connasse (70×1,40’) which was broadcasted prime time in 2013-2014 on Canal+ channel was a very big hit in France. The Adventurers of Modern Art, a 6×52′ series mixing archives and animation written by Dan Franck and directed by French César Award winner Amélie Harrault together with Pauline Gaillard and Valérie Loiseleux, coproduced with ARTE channel, won many accolades and was sold to more than 30 countries. In 2016 the 12×7’ digital documentary series French Touch about the history of French electronic music was a hit on ARTE’s online platform. Its sequel French Game about the history of French Rap music, was released online on arte.tv in April 2019.

SILEX FILMS is currently producing two major international 2D animated series: Brazen, a 30×3’30’’ adaptation of Pénélope Bagieu’s international bestseller (ed. Gallimard & Macmillan, 2016-2018) with French public national TV broadcaster France Télévisions. And Romanticism, The Adventurers of Art (prequel to The Adventurers of Modern Art) with ARTE channel, 4×52’ portraying the 19th century Parisian Art and literary scene, directed by Amélie Harrault.

SILEX FILMS also produces art films by contemporary artists: C.H.Z by Philippe Parreno, presented in 2012 at the Beyeler Fondation in Switzerland and in 2013 at the Palais de Tokyo in Paris ; Grosse Fatigue, by Camille Henrot, won the Silver Lion at the 2013 Venice Biennale and was purchased by the most prestigious contemporary art museums in the world.

The company is currently developing several features in international coproduction, digital and TV drama series, documentaries and 2D animation series.

The producers

PRISCILLA BERTIN

A graduate from Panthéon-Assas University where she studied Economics and Film & Television production, Priscilla Bertin started her career in Paris at ARTE Channel in the department of Communication for Cinema and Fiction. After a mission for cinema with THE HONG KONG TRADE DEVELOPPEMENT COUNCIL, she joined producer Jean-Luc Ormières at OF2B PRODUCTIONS. In 2005 she was appointed Head of Production and Business Affairs at LA FABRIQUE DE FILMS / LA FABRIQUE 2 where she worked on several features by Spanish directors such as Oxford Crimes by Álex de la Iglesia (starring Elijah Wood & John Hurt) in 2008 and Cell 211 by Daniel Monzón in 2010.

JUDITH NORA

Alumni of the Tisch School of the Arts/ New York University, Judith Nora started her career in New York at MIRAMAX FILMS. In 2004, she produced the documentary Torn Skin (La Peau Trouée) by Julien Samani. From 2005 to 2009, she ran the production department at AD VITAM where she produced Sangre by Mexican director Amat Escalante (Fipresci prize, Cannes Film Festival 2008), To Die Like a Man by Portuguese director Joao Pedro Rodrigues (Un Certain Regard, Cannes Film Festival 2009), Plein Sud by Sébastien Lifshitz (Berlinale 2009) and An American journey, in Robert Frank’s footsteps by Philippe Séclier, released in 2009 in the USA.

• Français
  • English
  • Français
  • English

Silex Films

SILEX FILMS est une société de production de longs-métrages, fictions et documentaires créée en 2009 et dirigée par Priscilla Bertin et Judith Nora. En 2014, SILEX créé SILEX ANIMATION, un studio 2D à Angoulême.

SILEX FILMS a produit plusieurs longs-métrages. En 2012, L’Hiver Dernier de John Shank (avec Vincent Rottiers et Anaïs Demoustier) distribué par Le Pacte ; Le Grand’Tour de Jérôme le Maire en 2013 ; Connasse, Princesse des coeurs (avec Camille Cottin) adapté de la série diffusée sur Canal+, en coproduction avec LGM Cinéma et distribué par Gaumont, a réalisé 1.2 millions d’entrées salles en 2015, l’un des plus gros succès du box office français. En 2016 est sorti Solange et les vivants de Ina Mihalache  En 2018 Le Vent Tourne de Bettina Oberli (avec Mélanie Thierry et Pierre Deladonchamps), coproduit avec Rita Productions ; distribué par ARP Sélection et vendu à l’international par Be For Films, il a remporté le Variety Piazza Grande Award au Festival de Locarno. Bientôt sortira Passed by Censor de Serhat Karaaslan, distribué et vendu à l’international par BAC Films. 

SILEX FILMS produit également fictions, documentaires et programmes courts : Connasse (Canal + / Le Grand Journal), Les Aventuriers de l’art moderne, série mêlant archives et animation de 6×52′ écrite par Dan Franck et réalisée par la césarisée Amélie Harrault avec Pauline Gaillard et Valérie Loiseleux, coproduite avec ARTE , a reçu de très nombreux prix et a été vendu dans plus de 30 pays. Touche Française, série documentaire 12×7′ sur l’histoire de la musique électronique française diffusée en ligne sur ARTE depuis 2016. La suite, French Game, sur l’histoire du Rap français, sera diffusée dès le 8 avril 2019 sur arte.tv. 

SILEX FILMS produit actuellement 2 séries d’animation 2D d’envergure internationale: Culottées, l’adaptation 30×3’30’’ du succès international de Pénélope Bagieu (publié chez Gallimard en 2016) pour France Télévisions, sortira en 2020. Et Romantismes : Les Aventuriers de l’art (prequel aux Aventuriers de l’art moderne) réalisée par Amélie Harrault, avec ARTE : 4×52’ sur l’histoire artistique et culturelle de Paris au 19ème siècle à travers ses grandes figures.

SILEX FILMS s’attache aussi à produire des films d’art : C.H.Z de Philippe Parreno, présenté en 2012 à la Fondation Beyeler et en 2013 au Palais de Tokyo ; Grosse Fatigue, de Camille Henrot qui a remporté le Lion d’argent à la Biennale de Venise en 2013 et a été acquis par les plus prestigieux musées du monde entier.

La société développe actuellement plusieurs longs-métrages en coproduction internationale, des séries d’animation, des documentaires et  nouveaux formats.

 

Les productrices

PRISCILLA BERTIN

Diplômée d’un DEA économie du cinéma et de l’audiovisuel, ainsi qu’une maîtrise de l’Institut Français de Presse d’Assas (Paris II), Priscilla Bertin a débuté chez ARTE France au service communication cinéma et fiction. Après une mission d’un an au HONG KONG TRADE DEVELOPPEMENT COUNCIL pour le cinéma, elle rejoint le producteur Jean-Luc Ormières au sein d’OF2B PRODUCTIONS pour l’assister dans la production de nombreux long-métrages dont Aaltra de Delépine et Kerven, Komma de Martine Doyen, Itinéraires de dissidents d’Euzhan Palcy. En 2005 elle prend la direction du département production et business affairs de LA FABRIQUE DE FILMS / LA FABRIQUE 2, agissant aussi en tant que productrice exécutive sur plusieurs films dont Crimes à Oxford de Alex de la Iglesia en 2008 (avec Elijah Wood & John Hurt) et Cellule 211 de Daniel Monzon en 2010.

JUDITH NORA

Diplômée du département Cinéma de la Tisch school of the Arts / New York University (NYU), Judith Nora débute chez MIRAMAX FILMS à New York. De retour à Paris, elle intègre AVENUE B et y produit le documentaire La Peau Trouée de Julien Samani (primé dans les festivals de Belfort, Nyon, Brive; prix Jean Vigo 2005). Elle rejoint ensuite AD VITAM pour y créer le département de production. Elle y coproduit Sangre du mexicain Amat Escalante (Festival de Cannes 2005) et Mourir Comme un Homme du réalisateur portugais João Pedro Rodrigues (Festival de Cannes 2009). En 2009 elle achève la production de Plein Sud de Sébastien Lifshitz (Berlinale 2010), ainsi que le documentaire Un Voyage Américain de Philippe Séclier.